Jerusalem

Well I see I have gone backwards significantly since my last post.  Now have 265 cookbooks with the most recent being Jerusalem by Yotam Ottolenghi and Sami Tamimi which I purchased on the weekend from probably my favourite bookshop, Lorne Beach Books.  Jerusalem has received rave reviews and topped numerous ‘best cookbooks of 2012’ polls so I finally relented.  Once you get into it, its a lot more than just a recipe book – a lot of info on the history and cultural influences in Jerusalem.

Tonight I wanted to cook Basmati and wild rice with chickpeas, currants and herbs which according to the book is a ‘Sephari-inspired dish that can be the centrepiece of a festive vegetarian meal or served alongside Chicken sofrito’, another recipe in the book.  Given I was pretty hungry, i opted for the chicken as well.   As with most of Yotam Ottolenghi’s recipes, most can be found on the net courtesy the column he writes for The Guardian.

What I like about these recipes is that they are not complicated yet produce satisfying and tasty results.  Below are links to the recipes (the rice recipe is buried pretty deep in the article) and my results.

Basmati & wild rice with chickpeas, currants & herbs

Image

Chicken sofrito

Image

And on the plate – it was delicious.

Image

Hopefully I’ll get another post up this year!

 

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Jerusalem

  1. Paul Hooper says:

    Hey it’s about time! 😉 Love the rice and chickpeas dish, I’m going to try that. When will we get a Spanish recipe? 🙂
    Cheers!
    Paul

  2. Love Ottolenghi, love Jerusalem! Beautiful recipe.

Leave a Reply

