Lachsshinken

Last week I was in South Australia for the Tour down Under (when I’m not cooking, I’m riding).  On Friday I rode in the Community Challenge which started in Norwood and conveniently ended on Tanunda.   I’m from German stock and love the Barossa so after completing the ride, having a recovery lunch at Bibu and rehydrating at Torbreck Wines, I found myself in Nuriootpa where my folks used to live.  After popping into the bakery for some streuselkuchen and bienenstich, it was off to the butcher where we ended up leaving with dill pickles, mettwurst, bacon and of course lachsshinken.

Lachsshinken is made by curing and smoking pork loin.  It is delicious and I first ran across it about 15 years ago when I was at a wine tasting in Melbourne.  I did a tutored tasting in the Barossa part of the event and matching food was provided by the now defunct Pear Tree Cottage in Greenock.  They made a pie that included slices of lachsschinken along with potato, brie, goats cheese, thyme and I think caramelised onions or leeks.  Anyway, I loved it and from memory, ate most of it.  I thought of making it tonight but I was googling around and found this recipe for Potato and Rosemary Galette.

This is a simple recipe and has a similar flavour profile to the Pear Tree Cottage pie.  I used Careme puff pastry, the best puff pastry you can buy and Udder Delights Goats Curd.

This entry was posted in Other Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lachsshinken

  1. campbellm says:

    That looks bloody terrific.

Leave a Reply

