In My Kitchen

My friend Celia is a prolific food blogger and each month she posts on what is in her kitchen, so I thought I would give it a go. BTW her blog, figjamandlimecordial, is worth a visit, particularly if you have a baking bent.

In my kitchen is a new wok

We have used a cast iron wok for years and I have wanted something that doesn’t have so much thermal inertia so I can control cooking a little bit better.  Santa brought me this.

In my kitchen is my Xmas and post Xmas haul of new cookbooks

I’m excited about all of these.  Really want to get into ‘proper’ BBQ and smoking this year.     PS Desserts has lots on technique which I need, Shane Delia is a great chef here in Melbourne (Middle Easternish) and I bought the book on Mexican food as it is written by the guy who took us on a street food tour in Vietnam.

In my kitchen are the last of our peaches

We have a dwarf standard peach tree which alternates between feast and famine.  This year was a bountiful year though as these peaches have a very thin skin we lose quite a few to disease.  The birds like them too!

In my kitchen are kaffir limes from our tree

The tree is loaded this year.  I used 2 tbsp of the rind in a duck curry I made last weekend.  Delish!

In my kitchen is tonight’s meal

I’ve been making this simple chilli con carne for over 20 years.  The recipe originally came from a Rosella Soup cookbook my Aunty gave me.  It’s basically mince, onion and bacon browned to which is added a tin of tomato soup, a tin of red kidney beans and a tin of chopped tomatoes.  Chilli , seasoning and a bit of garlic to taste.  Something that is quick to throw together, though you do need to let it cook down for a while.

I’m off to the beach tomorrow and then to SA for the Tour Down Under.  See you in a week.

This entry was posted in In My Kitchen and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to In My Kitchen

  1. Gorgeous Davey, thanks for playing! Can’t believe you’ve got more cookbooks, although I’m curious to see what’s in the butchering and smoking one! The peaches and limes (photos now showing up!) are looking lovely! Have fun at the races! 🙂

  2. Alison Spencer says:

    Ah I love a simple Chill Con Carne. I have a recipe that is not too disimliar, tomato paste instead of soup and a good slosh of red wine. Over the years I have also taken to adding in a can of corn. Delicious

    BTW you do so well with your garden. An inspiration. New to my list, plant a lime tree. cheers

  3. M & E says:

    Oh, I am jealous of some of your cookbooks! And your kaffir lime tree – what do you do with the limes? Can they be used liked a normal lime, for their juice? I know the leaves are used widely in curries, but I’m never sure what to do with the fruit.

    • David says:

      The zest of the limes is used in some curry pastes. That’s the only part of the lime I have ever used. As you say it’s the leaves that are more often called for.

  4. Ah, you are my kind of person, so glad I found you. I bet those peaches and the Kaffir limes taste wonderful! Glad you have a new wok, the cast iron ones just don’t generate the right temperature. Have you seasoned your new wok yet? Remember never to scrub it clean… Elizabeth Chong told me how she heard of a young girl who was keen to impress her Chinese mother in law, so she scrubbed a blackened wok clean!!! Oh my… all those years of cooking, blackening and seasoning gone. LOL.

Leave a Reply

