My Top 5 Cookbooks for 2011

I’m seeing ‘best cookbooks for 2011’ lists everywhere so I thought I should throw together one of my own.  Bear in mind, I haven’t bought every new cookbook that’s come out this year, though I’ve given it a good crack!

So below are my faves for the year in no particular order.

A Month in Marrakesh by Andy Harris – I like the way this book is divided up.  There are lots of tagines, the recipes are relatively straightforward and the ‘look’ of the book is terrific.  A winner for me.

Plenty by Yotam Ottolenghi – A worthy successor to Ottolenghi.  Lots of vegetarian recipes that you just want to cook – and we have!

Vietnamese Street Food by Tracey Lister and Andreas Pohl – We fell in love with food of Hanoi when we there a few months ago.  This book has plenty of street food recipes and stories of stall owners.

Cumulus Inc by Andrew McConnell – Recipes from this fantastic restaurant in Melbourne.  I’ve cooked a few with success and most of the regular menu dishes are here.  Very nice book but why wasn’t their fantastic bread included.

Two Asian Kitchens by Adam Liaw – I resisted buying this until I saw it cheap in Costco.  I’m glad I did as its very thoughtfully put together with lots of the sort of food that I like to eat.

I couldn’t squeeze it into the Top 5 but the most interesting cookbook added to my collection this year was……..

This entry was posted in Other Cooking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My Top 5 Cookbooks for 2011

  1. Sonia says:

    I’ve heard wonderful things about Ottolenghi. I really must get my hands on one. I’m speechless about the one that didn’t make it into the Top 5 😉

  2. Darn you, all those sound appealing, and I have three days before the amazon free shipping ends.. 😉

  3. Maeve Heneke says:

    Claudia Roden’s new book, The Food of Spain; Volumes 1 and 2 of Tender by Nigel Slater (in fact anything by these two writers); Heart of the Artichoke and other kitchen journeys by David Tanis and Warm Bread and Honey Cake by Gaitri Pagrach-Chandra. There’s your top ten!
    I accept that I have cheated -only The Food of Spain is from 2011. The rest are 2009 and 2010 but then White Trash Cooking is pretty old so I felt I could cheat a little…

  4. teawithhazel says:

    i have that ‘white trash cooking’ book..my brother brought it back from america for me after i asked him to buy me a good book on cajun cooking..he did get the cajun book..this was just an added extra! 🙂

  5. I would kill for a copy of Vietnamese Street Food, must try again on eBay, Amazon and UKBD.

Leave a Reply

