Service Resumed – Cumulus Inc

Well its a long time since I have posted.  I’ve been travelling, I’ve had ‘IT issues’, I’ve been a bit lazy and I’ve given myself an extension – yep another 6 months.  I came to the conclusion that I wasn’t going to quite make it this year and there are also a lot of really good cookbooks coming out for Xmas that I want.  Cop out?  Maybe, but I make the rules!

One of which is Cumulus Inc, quite possibly my favourite place to eat in Melbourne.  The book is a ripper and includes all of their best dishes (as far as I am concerned) with the possible exception of their fantastic bread.

Anyway, on Sunday I prepared some dishes from the book.

First up was ‘Tin of Ortiz anchovies’ which is not so much cooking, but rather assembling some yummy things on a plate, which when eaten together are even yummier.

Next up was ‘spiced cauliflower salad with goats curd’.  This along with the ‘cracked wheat and freekah salad with preserved lemon and barberries’ are menu stalwarts and favorites.  This is a pretty easy salad to put together.   Basically toss cauliflower florets in some olive oil, saute until barely cooked then toss through a spice mix of coriander, cumin, fennel and white pepper.  Transfer to a bowl and toss through spring onions, lemon juice, green chilli and salt to taste.  Leave 10 mins.  Toss parsley and mint through the salad and serve with goat’s curd.  To finish, sprinkle with pomeganate seeds.

How good is a slow roast.  Do a bit of prep and let the oven do the rest, all the while filling your house with that wonderful smell.  Cumulus does a slow roasted lamb shoulder and does it very well.  On the night before I made a marinade of garlic, lemon zest, oregano, olive oil and salt.  Rubbed it into the lamb then into the fridge.

Next day cooked for 8 hours in a roasting dish with a cup of water.  First 2 at 150C and last 6 at 110C.  The meat is covered by a foil tent for the first 7 hours to keep meat moist and removed for last hour to crisp up the skin.  Next time I might crank up the temp for the last hour as well for a bit more browning.

 

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Service Resumed – Cumulus Inc

  1. The lamb looks delicious! Does the book really tell you to open a tin of anchovies? 🙂

  2. David says:

    Sometimes the simplest ideas are the best! (I had to char grill the bread!)

  3. Alison Spencer says:

    welcome back. 🙂

  4. Jude Blacklock says:

    Good to see you back. Your salad makes me want to go out and buy a cauliflower! (think turnip…)

  5. Maeve Heneke says:

    Good to see you back. Change the rules as often as you like – I’d be happy for a 5 year project… or longer!

  6. campbellm says:

    I vote for a six year extension. Re-negotiate after that.

Leave a Reply

