Sneaking in a Turnip

I can’t remember the last time I cooked with a turnip and am prepared to go out on a limb and suggest that it may have been in the last century.  Which is a little strange as when I was a kid, turnips were one of the easiest things to grow in my vege garden.  They grow very quickly and I remember the sweet taste of a freshly pulled raw turnip vividly.  Perhaps the best way to eat them as cooking only seems to diminish that flavour.

So last night when I was flicking through Ripailles by Stephane Reynaud I came across a vegetable soup that contained turnip.  And it was easy.  So off to Woolworths to find me some vegetables including a couple of turnips.  I got home and had to try some raw turnip.  Sorry ‘fresh food people’, not quite the same thing.

So to the soup – Soup de legumes tout simplement.  Peel and chop roughly 4 potatoes, 4 carrots, 1 sweet potato, 2 turnips, 1 leek, 1 onion and 2 celery stalks.  Place in large saucepan and cover with twice vegetables volume in water.  Bring to boil and simmer for 40 mins.  Puree and add 80g butter and 1 tsp cumin.  Season to taste and serve with creme fraiche and chives.

I liked this healthy soup on a cold night so was a little taken a back when I received the comment  “This is a bit tasteless”.  Must have been the turnips.

And by the way, it’s a pretty good book.

 

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sneaking in a Turnip

  1. Alison Spencer says:

    In the middle ages they loved turnips. When I was a kid we used to have turnip and swedes. The later is a vegetable still in shop and I challenge you to come up with a recipe for a swede 🙂 BTW I alwasy put turnip in my veggie soup – delicious

Leave a Reply

