Retro Food

Whenever I see the old hardcover Women’s Weekly cookbooks, I think of food from my youth.  I know the Women’s Weekly Original Cookbook was the first cook book I ever bought and I’m pretty sure the Women’s Weekly New Cookbook was the second.  When was the last time I used it?  Probably about 1990. 

So to celebrate the 21st anniversary of non usage I couldn’t go past Chicken Drambuie.  Chicken with a creamy, liqueur flavoured sauce – gotta love the 70s.  This ended up being really tasty but you probably couldn’t eat it every night.

4 chicken breasts
salt and pepper
flour
90g butter
2 cloves garlic
500ml chicken stock
1 cup cream
6 spring onions, chopped finely
2 tbsp chopped parsley
2 tbsp Drambuie

Pound chicken breasts lightly and coat with seasoned flour.  Melt butter in pan and saute chicken until well browned on both sides – remove from pan.  Drain excess butter from pan and add crushed garlic and chicken stock and bring to boil.  Reduce heat and return chicken to pan, cover and simmer gently for 20 to 25 mins or until tender.  Remove chicken from pan stir in cream and stir until sauce has thickened.  Stir in spring onions, parsley and Drambuie.  Return chicken to pan and coat with sauce.

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Retro Food

  1. That does look good. But as I said the other day, any cookbook which has recipes using tinned camembert is perhaps a little dated.. 😉

  2. Stephanie says:

    Indeed they do David, was this perhaps the start of your cookbook addiction? PS. I recall being very impressed with a mango cheesecake you made way back then.

  3. There are three Women’s Weekly cookbooks that are a large chunk of my childhood. I pinched them from my mum last time I was there as there were so many memories wrapped up in all of the pages. As a teen starting out cooking, any recipe to be cooked was definitely selected from one of those three. I think I need to revisit for old times sake!

Leave a Reply

