Artichokes

Maree brought home some baby artichokes on the weekend as a sort of “ingredient test” for me.  They sat on the bench for a day in a wooden bowl and looked quite cute – should have taken a pic.

Luckily I hadn’t used Phaidon’s The Silver Spoon yet as amongst its many recipes are quite a few for artichokes.  The Silver Spoon is one of the better Phaidon books – ‘the bible of authentic Italian cooking’.  It is I think better than the Phaidon’s Spanish and French equivalents, 1080 recipes and I know how to cook.

I decided on carciofi alla provenzale (provencal artichokes).  The recipe can be found here.  I must admit I haven’t cooked with artichokes much as I am a bit intimidated by them, mainly the prep.  Fortunately these turned out quite well, particularly as they were braised to soften up nicely.

And the finished dish served with lamb cutlets.

 

 

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Artichokes

  1. Alison Spencer says:

    Looks fantastic. Last year while on holiays in California I went to the “home of artichokes” and ate at a little roadhouse, steamed articokes and fried articokes. Both where delicious. However, I do believe if they had your braised artichoke recipe it would knock their socks off.

  2. Else Anderson says:

    So now I can find out on-line what’s for dinner at your place. Amazing !
    Aunt Else

  3. Joanna says:

    I have that book and I never cook from it but I am going to have a look for that recipe it looks absolutely LOVELY!

Leave a Reply

