Harira

I bought a book called the Moroccan collection quite a few years ago mainly because it has quite a few tagine recipes in it, many of which we have cooked over the years.  However, I am sans tagine at the moment as our clay tagine cracked recently.

So for an easy to prepare meal, I decided to try harira, a soup eaten during Ramadan (according to the book).  A tasty dish.

2 tbsp olive oil
250g lean lamb cubed
1 onion, chopped
125g chickpeas, soaked overnight and drained (I used 375g canned)
1.5l water
125g red lentils
425g tomatoes, skinned, deseeded and chopped (I used a tin of chopped tomatoes)
1 tbsp sun dried tomato paste
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 red pepper, cored, deseeded and chopped
50g long grain rice
1 bunch coriander, chopped
salt and pepper

Heat oil in saucepan, add lamb and lightly brown.  Add onion and cook until softened.  Add chickpeas and water, cover and simmer for an hour.  Add lentils, tomatoes, tomato paste, cinnamon and red pepper and simmer for 15 mins.  Add rice and simmer for a further 15 mins.  Stir in coriander, season to taste and serve.

 

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Harira

  1. What did you think? I’d like to try harira soup, but have never been sure if the big chunks of meat and the rice would make it past the boys. Personally I think I’d love it.
    You need to get a new Emile Henry tagine – they’re on special pretty much everywhere at the moment. Cheapest one I’ve found is in a light grey colour (Salt) at Peters of Kensington – it’s just $79. Pete won’t let me buy another one, as I already have two EH tagines and haven’t used them as much as I said I would.

    • David says:

      Its good comfort food and quite tasty. I’m sure you could adjust it to gain universal approval! Yes, I will grab one of those at some stage – maybe for next winter!

Leave a Reply

