Success and Failure

I haven’t been posting but I have been cooking.  I’m out of my posting routine for a number of reasons, not the least being a manic devotion to the Tour de France.  Anyway, as I wait for the 16th stage to start, I can jot down my thoughts of a couple of dishes from last week.

First up was chicken velvet and sweet corn soup from Charmaine Solomon’s The Complete Asian Cookbook.   The least successful dish cooked this year, quite bland and not really sure why.

Better was fennel risotto with ricotta and dried chilli from Jamie Oliver’s Jamie’s Italy.  We received this book via a Christmas hamper a couple of years ago and like most of Jamie’s books, it’s recipes are accessible and yummy.  The recipe for this dish can be found here.

This risotto has a heap of fennel in it but when cooked down adds a subtle sweetness to the dish.  Very nice. 

My daughter made a cake the day before and we had this for dessert.  Yum!

Oh, and Cadel has taken some time out of Voeckler tonight and moved into second overall. Good stuff.

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Success and Failure

  1. Alison Spencer says:

    what a cake! Is it a Black Forrest? Looks amazing, clearly the cooking genes have been passed on. Oh — and thanks for sharing your “failures”, makes me feel better about mine. Which alas come a little too frequently when I try new recipes…

  2. Claire says:

    Way to go J, cake looks awesome and delicious!!!!

Leave a Reply

