Maze Pumpkin Risotto

I’m a bit of a sucker for cooking shows and it’s fair to say Channel 118 gets a fair workout on our Foxtel (that and any repeat of Seinfeld I can find).  The Great British Menu was one of those shows I got a bit addicted to.  It’s basically a cook off between chefs representing various regions of the UK to create a four course menu.  In the series I first saw, Jason Atherton was quite successful, so when I saw his book Maze on sale, I grabbed it.

Maze is an interesting book.  It has a lot of things in it I would like to cook if I could get organised.  A restaurant recipe is presented then a couple of simpler recipes using the same core ingredients.

I had pumpkin left over, and he has a pumpkin risotto recipe which funnily enough also calls for toasted walnuts, so a close relation to my previous post.  A very nice risotto, though quite wet.

100ml olive oil
2 shallots, peeled and finely chopped
1l chicken stock
300g risotto rice (I used carnaroli)
6tbsp freshly grated parmesan
3tbsp marscapone
8tbsp pumpkin puree
100g butter, diced
sea salt and black pepper

To serve: parmesan shavings, toasted walnuts and sage leaves

Heat oil in pan, add shallots and gently cook for 5 mins. Add rice and cook for a minute.  Add 700ml stock, heat and simmer for 8 mins.  Drain rice and spread out on plate to cool.  Just before serving add rice and remaining stock and simmer until rice is al dente.  Stir in parmesan, marscapone and pumpkin puree.  Add butter and season.  Serve and top with parmesan, walnuts and sage. 

For toasted walnuts melt 25g butter in pan and cook 100g walnuts for a minute or so or until lightly browned.  Drain and season with sugar and salt.

For butternut puree cook 500g pumpkin, 75g butter until soft. Puree and add seed from half a vanilla pod and season with salt to taste.  I used my thermomix for the puree.

 

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Maze Pumpkin Risotto

  1. Claire says:

    Need to crack the whip a bit – half way through the year and not yet halfway through the recipes 🙂

  2. Hey, that’s a good point! Get a move on, Dave! 😉

  3. David says:

    I am a bit behind on posting – about 8 books actually, so still on target.

  4. We still haven’t discussed how many books you’ve added since this all began.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

