Everyday Harumi

Last night’s meal was due to the generosity of my friend Bruce who brought back Everyday Harumi from Japan for me.  It is a great little book that divides simple dishes up by core ingredient (thankyou Masterchef).  The book is by Harumi Kurihara who according to the book blurb is Japan’s most popular cookery writer.

I cooked green beans with minced pork.  This was a really simple dish, but gee it was nice.  I managed to buy some nice baby beans from our local friut’n’veg on the way home and they went down a treat.  This is something I can see myself cooking again, not to mention other recipes in the book. 

500g green beans
40g leek
15g fresh ginger, peeled
8g garlic
vegetable oil
200g minced pork
30 – 45ml soy sauce
sliced chillies to taste
sesame oil to taste

Lightly cook the beans in boiling water, then refresh in iced water.  Drain beans, pat dry and cut into bite size pieces.  Finely chop leek, garlic and ginger.  Fry leek, garlic and ginger in vegetable oil until aromatic, then add pork mince and stir fry.  Add green beans, chillies and soy sauce to taste.  Continue to cook until beans are warm and add a little sesame oil to taste.  Serve with white rice.  Delish!

 

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Everyday Harumi

  1. Blanching the beans sounds like a good idea – we only ever fry ours straight, which sometimes means they lose their crispness. Looks delicious, Dave!

  2. Claire says:

    I might even give this one a go! Not sure your beans look ‘bite-size’ though 🙂

  3. Bruce Furmedge says:

    Whoo hoo I got a mention in the blog!!!! Looks delicious and hopefully plenty of other recipes in that book you can try in the future. I’m over in India at the moment and as much as I love the food here, I am really craving some simple and clean Japanese cuisine!!!!!!

  4. I love Japanese food, but rarely seem to stray into cooking any of it. I’d also love to flick through that cook book.

Leave a Reply

