Potato and Rice?

Last night I wanted something simple from a kitchen with not a heap of stuff in it.  I found a recipe in Stefano de Pieri’s A Gondola on the Murray.  Hard to believe this book was published 10 years ago.  There are some gems in here, but as I said, I was going basic.

I wanted risotto so I tried Risotto with Potatoes and Onions.  This dish is a basic risotto starting with half an onion and half a carrot both chopped and 2 potatoes cubed.  Cook in olive oil until soft.  Add a cup of arborio rice, stir to coat then add 75ml white wine.  Then start adding chicken stock as required until cooked.  When cooked add butter, chopped parsley, parmesan cheese, salt and pepper to taste. 

The comments on this recipe suggest that you would not think that potato and rice would work well and yet it does – I’m not so sure.  However, the comment that it is economical and very practical is spot on.

This entry was posted in The Project. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Potato and Rice?

  1. Alison Spencer says:

    I love that book, and you just reminded me I have it. Time to dig it out. Double carbs — um may be delicious but I don’t think I could justify it.

    • David says:

      Yeah, I would certainly look at other recipes in the first instance. Starch squared is prob something that shouldn’t be tried too often

Leave a Reply

