Flourless Chocolate Cake?

Well its been a while between posts due to a reasonably busy social calendar.  But I have had time to get some winter vegies in.

I’ve put in some broad beans, snow peas, brussel sprouts, carvolo nero, mixed lettuces and spinach leaves.  My only concern is that the garden bed I am using only gets the sun for half a day.

Today was our son’s birthday and he wanted Mexican so I reprised some of the food I did a few weeks back.  I also did a soft shell taco with a shredded pork filling which turned out pretty well.

Of course, there was also a birthday cake to make and I tried a flourless chocolate cake from Bread Matters by Andrew Whitley.  The recipe for it can be found here.  Whether it was my technique or the fact that I used a slightly bigger cake tin, my cake didn’t end up with ‘a lot of height’.  It tasted pretty good but the comments I received such as “at least the candles give the cake some height”, “that’s why you don’t make the cakes” and “it was nice to start and end the day with pancakes” suggests everyone picked up on that fact.

Forgot to mention, happened to have a birth year bottle of wine on the rack, 1991 Penfolds Bin 389.  This bottle was drinking beautifully at the moment.  Next year of course is 21, so the Grange will be coming out to play.

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Flourless Chocolate Cake?

  1. Wow, you’re playing to a harsh crowd, Dave.. 😉

    Bruce Springsteen never had to put up with comments like this when he hit a flat note. 😉

  2. Claire says:

    Tough crowd indeed! I didn’t think flourless chocolate cakes were supposed to have that much height anyway. Hope The boy had a a great day x

    • David says:

      Just some good natured ribbing – a good day was had, notwithstanding the fact ManU lost the champions league final in the morning.

Leave a Reply

