Rabbit and Greens

I have a foodie friend in Sydney, who I met in a wine internet chat room and have known almost exclusively by internet, email and phone for over a decade (we have met and shared a couple of meals over the years and amazingly, she is not an axe wielding homicidal maniac).   She is usually up for a chat and I value her opinions, so when she speaks, I listen.

Recently, Celia told me about River Cottage Everyday by Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall and how it was a must have book.  This coupled with her advice that Amazon UK had free shipping to Australia made my purchase of this book a fait accompli.  You can read about her views on the book here  Interestingly, she was also put onto it by a friend – pass it on!

I bought a wild rabbit on a whim at the Victoria Market on the weekend and was pleased to find a recipe for rabbit and tomato stew in River Cottage Everyday.  Not only that, but I had all the other ingredients on hand.  As a side the recipe suggested leeks with greens.  I cooked them both up.  Rabbit OK, leeks and greens better.  Also did a potato mash.  For the leaks and greens I cooked 2 finely sliced leeks in butter till softened, then added 1/4 of a savoy cabbage that had been chopped and cooked in a pan of simmering water for 5 mins.  Stir it all through and season with salt and pepper.  Surprisingly good.

I know this looks a bit meat and three veg, but hey, sometimes that’s not a bad thing!

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rabbit and Greens

  1. Geez, has it been that long? And since when do you listen? 😉

    Glad you liked the book, DM, the rabbit looks interesting, but there’s no way I’d get it past the tribe. The leeks however are a house fave, and we’re growing stacks of them in the backyard!

Leave a Reply

