Cauliflower Soup

There is a bit of a love hate relationship with cauliflower soup in our house.  I love it (I still remember a bowl I had for lunch in Canberra in the early 90s) , the rest of my family, not so much.    Unfortunately for them, as the cook of the house, I don’t always follow normal democratic process, so tonight I made soupe au chou-fleur from Joanne Harris and Fran Warde’s The French Market

This book, a sequel to The French Kitchen, takes its inspiration from the rural markets of Gascony and has a lot of nice stuff in it, though plenty that you would find in many other French cookbooks.

First sweat off 2 diced shallots and 3 diced sticks of celery in 25g of butter.  Then add the florets of a cauliflower, 1tsp dijon mustard, 2 bay leaves, 3 sprigs of thyme and 1.2l of chicken stock.  Simmer for 20mins.  Then remove the herbs and blend until smooth.  Season with salt, pepper and nutmeg and add 200ml of cream.  Serve with a garnish of chopped chives and slices of brie.

The positive commentary I received when this was eaten suggests attitudes towards cauliflower soup in this house may be taking a turn for the better.  I like it!

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cauliflower Soup

  1. Alison Spencer says:

    I agree I too love cauliflour soup, though the one I make is a more suburbian – from a very old Weight Watcher International Cookbook — maybe from the 70’s?? In any case you make the WW soup with bacon, chicken stock, onion, cauliflour and evaporated milk.. Very nice but next time I may be more adventureous and try your special french fare.

  2. Lincoln says:

    With the butter, mustard, chicken stock, herbs, cream and cheese, it should not a surprise that it was tasty 😉 Geez, even chokos could be delicious with that cast of ingredients….

  3. See, we’re the same, I like cauli, tribe won’t eat it unless it’s drowned in bechamel…

Leave a Reply

