Friday Night Footy

Melbourne has served up another wintry day.  Got lashed with horizontal rain while filling up the car this arvo, but hey, it’s better than drought I guess.  A good  night for footy. Seems everyone is at the footy tonight seeing the two undefeated teams slug it out.  Maree is there, a heap of the crew from work are there as well, so if I was going to be at home watching it on TV (live thankfully) I was going to have a good feed.  I was thinking fried, I was thinking steak, I was thinking pub grub.  I turned to Beef by John Torode and came up with cote de boeuf with caramelized shallots and big chips. 

John Torode is one of the judges on UK Masterchef, which gets a good flogging on Foxtel so I have seen a fair bit of him and his offsider Gregg Wallace.  When this book came out I had a flick through and liked it – I thought I’d buy it, it seemed beef was John Torode’s passion.  A few months later I saw John Torode’s Chicken on the shelf – I’d been had.  Nevertheless there are some good things in this book.

This recipe calls for  rib eye.  I used scotch fillet which is the same cut of meat except deboned.   The shallots were browned in oil, then cooked in butter with a couple of bay leaves, a sprig of thyme, salt and some beef stock.  This was cooked quite gently till reduced and sticky.  The chips were soaked thoroughly in a couple of changes of water, then deep fried for 10 mins at 140C, before being drained and finished off at 190C for 7 mins.

RIP Jack Stutt

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

