Mother’s Day Brunch

As a Melbournite I’d never heard of the Bourke St Bakery but was taken when I first saw their cookbook The Ultimate Cooking Companion.  It seems a really good reference book for baking.  I had never made croissants or any sort of laminated dough or pastry before so the challenge was before me. 

The process outlined in the book involves a few steps.  I started on Friday night by making a ferment which I then added to the dough when making that on Saturday night.   Sunday morning began the long process of laminating and proving.  Laminating is essentially the process of putting layers of butter into the dough by repeated rolling and folding.  Once this process is complete the dough can be rolled out, cut and shaped.  I made a both plain croissants and pan au chocolat.  The formed croissants then need to prove before being egg washed and baked. 

I managed to feed the crew just before midday, so I guess that still qualifies as brunch.

Below are shots of dough after final lamination, formed croissants and again after proving and washing.

And here is the finished product.  I was pretty stoked with the results.

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mother’s Day Brunch

  1. Stephanie says:

    Wow David, they look amazing.

  2. Lincoln says:

    Well done!
    I have a Bourke St Bakery book too – perhaps this will spur me on to try and make crosissants too….

  3. David says:

    Thanks Steph and Linc. I must say I was pleased with the result after all of the work. Brought a few of the choccy ones in for morning tea at work today and they went down a treat.

  4. Claire says:

    They look awesome big brother! Can I put in an order for when I next visit?

  5. Janine says:

    I’m salivating at this vision of delicate flaky, buttery deliciousness, the pics are beautiful but I imagine they taste so much better then they look & were worth all the painstaking processes required to turn them out..

  6. campbell says:

    Bloody hell. Now you’re just showing off 🙂

Leave a Reply

