Staying on Theme

It has got a bit wintry in Melbourne this evening so soup seemed the thing for dinner.  I knew I wanted to cook Soupe au Pistou, to continue to use the pesto I made, it was just a matter of finding a recipe.  Find one I did in Anne Willan’s The Country Cooking Of France.  This book pretty much sums up why I am doing this blog – a beautiful, informative, useful (or should be) cookbook on my shelf that I have never used.

For the soup place the following in a soup pot

1 drained can of cannellini beans (the recipe actually called for 1/3 cup of beans to be cooked but I did not have the requisite 90 mins)
1 leek, thinly sliced
3 tomatoes, peeled and chopped
2 carrots, diced
2 potatoes, peeled and diced
3 small zucchinis, sliced
1 onion, chopped
1 handful green beans, trimmed and cut into small pieces
1 bouquet garni
2l of water
salt and pepper

Bring to simmer and cook for 20 mins.  Add a cup of shelled peas and cook for another 5 mins.  Add 75g short noodles or small pasta and cook until noodles/pasta is cooked.  Take off heat, remove bouquet garni and add 1/2 cup pistou/pesto.  Serve with grated parmesan and a dollop of pistou/pesto.  Very Good.

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Staying on Theme

  1. Alison Spencer says:

    Looks yummy and intersting that it is made without using a stock.

  2. David says:

    I thought the same when I read the recipe. Our standard vege soup is Marcella Hazan’s minestrone which meticulously sweats off the veges before adding stock, so this was quite different. I assume the intention here is to highlight the taste of the pesto.

Leave a Reply

