Basil Harvest = Pesto

The days are getting shorter and the nights are getting colder and the basil will soon die back, so its time to harvest my basil and make pesto. 

In the past I have used Marcella Hazan’s method, but to try something different I turned to my other Italian cookbooks and came up with a recipe in Stephanie Alexander and Maggie Beer’s Tuscan Cookbook.  I guess most pesto recipes are fairly similar but this one differed from what I have done before by toasting the pinenuts prior to blending.  The ingredients are:

100g pine nuts
175ml extra virgin olive oil
2 cloves garlic
1 packed cup of basil
salt
freshly ground pepper
50g freshly grated parmigiano reggiano
50g freshly grated pecorino

I had enough basil for 3 quantities of the above and the thermomix did the rest. 

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Basil Harvest = Pesto

  1. I’ve been making pesto too, although I’ve taken to making mine in the mortar and pestle. I also found that it was getting bitter, and then a friend suggested that I stop using the EVOO – we now use grapeseed oil, and it’s great.

    Hasn’t it been a great season for basil? Ours look like yours – flowering but still with leaves!

  2. David says:

    I was all ready for some mortar and pestle action, but the recipe said blender, so what do you do! Fitted well into my slightly time deficient day I must say. The mild summer and extended autumn has certainly been good for basil here in Melbourne.

  3. Alison Spencer says:

    Congratulations on growning such fine basil. This year mine has been a bit under whelming. However, a new season, a new veggie crop to tend. Time to get in the broadbeans, brussel sprouts and peas..

    • David says:

      Thanks Alison and thanks for the inspiration, I have a spare vege bed so broad beans and peas might be the go (can’t see brussel sprouts having universal appeal in my house though, notwithstanding the fact that I love them)

  4. Rosemary says:

    Unfortunatley my basil crop is pretty much dormant! I noticed you refer to your thermomix – how handy is this machine for you? Curious to know how it changes the kitchen gadget cupboard?!

    • David says:

      There is no doubt it is handy and I use it a lot, the cooking feature is the key. However, for a foodie, I would say claims that it replaces 10 gadgets are way over stated. While it can do all these things, I still use scales when not using the thermomix for instance, I still grind spices in a mortar and pestle rather than the thermomix. The only things I really got rid of were magimix, blender and barmix – still have and use the kitchenaid.

Leave a Reply

