Easter Part Three

Paschal Lamb from Nigella’s Feast was dinner on Easter Sunday (and no I am not double counting – just recording another good recipe).  The cut of lamb is the shoulder and we cooked it for about 6 hours.  Never cooked shoulder before but will again, so tender and just falling off the bone.  The shoulder was cooked on top of white beans mixed with an onion, garlic and carrot puree.  The obligatory rosemary was also present.  The whole roasting dish was contained in a foil ‘tent’ while cooking.  This is how it turned out.

I bought a new cookbook while away for Easter  – a month in Marrakesh by Andy Harris.  I was quite taken by this book as it has a lot of my favourite things grouped by chapter, ie breakfast, street food and tagines to name a few.  And anyway, Moroccan content on my bookshelf is thin!

Yesterday I made breakfast from this book – Beghrir with honey.  Beghrir are Moroccan pancakes which as far as I can tell are a bit of a cross between pancakes and crumpets.  Ingredients are as follows:

15g dried yeast
1 tsp sugar
salt
100ml warm water
150ml cold water
2 eggs
150ml milk
250g semolina
250g plain flour
vegetable oil for frying

First place yeast, sugar, salt and warm water in a bowl, mix well and leave in a warm place for 15 mins (as I type this I realise I neglected to add the sugar and salt in this step).

Beat eggs, add milk and cold water.

Place semolina, flour and pinch of salt in a bowl and mix well.  Slowly add the egg mixture, mixing well.  Similarly, add the yeast mixture and mix well with a wooden spoon for 5 mins until mixture is light and runny – adding more water if necessary.  I found I had to add extra water.  Cover mixture with a tea towel and rest for 1 to 2 hours.

Cook pancakes in lightly oiled pan over medium heat until top has bubbled and set – do not turn.  Serve with melted butter and honey.

These take a while to cook but are worth it.  They have quite a crunchy base which I’m guessing is due to the semolina.  On the to do again list (properly next time).

 One final part of Easter to report on.

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Easter Part Three

  1. Campbell says:

    I’m gonna give these a try myself.
    Andy Harris … as in, the ACP dude?

    CM

  2. David says:

    Same guy I believe, now or most recently editor of Jamie

  3. Campbell says:

    well I never. Editor of jamie? but I kinda like that magazine. now I’m in a quandary.

Leave a Reply

