Tomato and Lentil Soup

Boy I’m tired.  Busy week, late night last night and 50km on the bike this morning.  I needed a throw in the pot meal and I found one in Loreto Cooks, the second and last of my school fund raising cookbooks.  Loreto is my daughter’s school and the cookbook is very nicely put together, with a useful collection of recipes.

Tomato and Lentil Soup is from the ‘rush hour’ chapter and is a recipe that was contributed by a colleague’s wife – thankyou Lisa,  so it was something I wanted to try as well.  The recipe basically involves cooking up:

1 chopped onion
2 minced cloves of garlic
2/3 cup red lentils
2 diced carrots
2 bacon rashers
piece of parmesan cheese rind
2 400g tins of tomatoes
2 1/2 l chicken stock
fresh herbs (I used basil and oregano)

After 45 mins simmering, remove bacon and cheese, season to taste and serve with grated parmesan cheese.  I think it was good – leftovers were requested for lunch tomorrow! 

Well the days are getting shorter and colder. I think Thursday nights might see a few more soups before the year is out.

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tomato and Lentil Soup

  1. Anyone who rides 50km on a bike is entitled to eat more than lentil soup for dinner.. but that looks delicious, nonetheless!

Leave a Reply

