Two for One

Busy latter half of the week, so making a couple of meals at once is not a bad thing – makes things a bit easier for the kids.  We have a book called Love the Leftovers from Murdoch Books which aims to transform leftovers from one meal into a new meal the next day, ie tandoori roast chicken becomes chicken biryani or persian beef with lentils and spinach becomes beef, pumpkin and pea hot pies.  As a concept it has come merit.

I made tex mex chicken and beans.  Chicken mince, onions, chopped tomatoes, chicken stock  and red kidney beans flavoured with tomato paste, cumin, chilli, garlic, cayenne pepper and a touch of sugar.  On the side a salsa of tomato, onion, spring onion, coriander and lime juice and some chopped jalopenos.  I usually go a bit easy on the quantities of heat in dishes like this and this could have done with a bit more.  If I cook this again, I will use teh quantities as advertised.

Tonight the kids will be using the leftovers to make enchiladas.  See you in a few days.

Update:  Apparently this is how the enchiladas turned out.

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Two for One

  1. Cynthia says:

    Hello – on the subject of Mexican food…. I am in desperate need of help for a Mexican Food Night dinner party that I am hosting this Saturday. Work has got in the way of my love of researching recipes 🙂 so now I am without a reliable recipe for one of my main dishes – Mexican Style Brisket. It’s just beef… but from what I’ve read, the high impact of this dish seems to be the sauces that go with it and the spices/veg used to marinate and for braising and I’m sure I’m missing other things but you know what I mean. So I’ve sourced a brisket from my local butcher (Pennys in Mosman). It’s about 1-1.3 kg. I would like to serve the brisket “pulled” or shredded style so that guests can either eat it on its own with all of the different side dishes we have or they could stuff the meat into a taco shell or tortilla wrap. Please help!!

    • David says:

      Hi Cynthia, I have Mexican Food Made Simple by Thomasina Miers which has a marinade in it by Diana Kennedy. It consists of 5 ancho chillies, 8 garlic cloves, 1 cinnamon stick, 2/3 tsp cumin seeds, 1/2 tsp peppercorns, 1 tsp dried oregano, 40g dark chocolate, 300 ml olive oil, salt and pepper. Simmer chillies for 10 to 15 mins then blend everything and marinate meat overnight. There are a few methods of cooking explained on the net but one I have found and want to try can be found here. Hope it goes well!

Leave a Reply

