Friday Night Pizza

A couple of years ago my daughter and I journeyed to the country on a mission to pick up an Anduze garden urn from Frances Pilley in Beechworth. We stayed nearby with friends and were treated to some very fine home cooked pizzas. Our host utilised an appliance called ‘The Pizza Maker’ to cook his pizzas and they were damned fine.

Naturally I had to have one, and in a few short weeks I did. So for a couple of months after that it was pizzas every Friday night. Thats probably backed off now to about once a month. Tonight was one of those nights. Generally I use a pizza dough from one of Karen Martini’s books but tonight I reverted to a basic recipe of just flour, salt, water and yeast from La Pizza The true story from Naples.

It worked really well. I must confess though that rather than kneading by hand I used the dough hook on my Kitchenaid.

First up was a pizza inspired by L’uccellino in Yarraville. The topping is char grilled zucchini, fior de latte, chilli and mint.  I think L’uccellino uses a tomato based base.  We use red capsicum pesto mixed with olive oil – it adds an element of sweetness.  We love this combo.

Next was a classic Margherita from La Pizza.  This is simple, basically tomato and fior de latte.  I butchered this a bit in the cooking process but it tasted good.

Third cab off the rank was one of the kids favourites – Smoked chicken, pesto and fior de latte.

Had to cook another one as the tribe was still a bit hungry – always have some dough in reserve.  This was simply red pesto base, prosciutto and fior de latte.  The kids like this one.

After a tiring week, pizza and a few reds is always nice.  I’m off tomorrow for a boy’s weekend.  I hope to come back with a few fish to cook next week!

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Friday Night Pizza

  1. Aah yes, I can still remember you going on about C’s pizza maker and then buying your own. Glad to see you’ve been putting it to good use! 🙂

  2. Claire says:

    Pizzas look great David! My friend Jane wants to know which 5 cookbooks you turn to most regularly so if you would like to divulge that info that would be great!

    • David says:

      Thats a tricky one. I would say Stephanie Alexander’s Cooks Companion and Marcella Hazan’s Essentials of Classic Italian Cooking are long term standouts. In recent times, both the Ottolenghi books are up there – Ottolenghi and Plenty. If I had to throw in another I would say Maggie’s Kitchen or Maggie’s Table

  3. CunningMamaVixen says:

    Hmm. Pizza Machine, eh? Don’t think my husband would allow that. We don’t even have a hand-beater, let alone a kitchenaid!!
    Those toppings sound great. Reminded me of my two long time favourites…pissaladiere (slow-cooked onion, thyme, olive and anchovy) and garlic prawn pizza from Bar Reggio in East Sydney (green prawns sauteed in garlic, chilli, tomato…hmm it has been a long time…)
    What are the benefits of the machine, apart from not heating your entire kitchen?

    • David says:

      Pissaladiere, I’ve always wanted too make that.

      I’ve never really had much success with pizza in the oven (mind you, I never used to have a very good oven). The pizza machine is basically small and packs a punch, with an element in the lid and below the stone, so it gets a high heat quite quickly.

Leave a Reply

