A Curry by Pat Chapman

I was going to have the night off but then realised I am out for the next three nights and also the weekend, so better keep rolling. On Sunday I noticed that the local supermarket was selling fresh curry leaves. That was great except I was after coriander which of course was the one empty box in the herb section.

I was pretty certain there would still be plenty of curry leaves in stock today so when I pulled out The Complete Master Chefs and found a recipe for Cochin Vegetable Curry by Pat Chapman that used these leaves, dinner was settled for tonight. The Complete Master Chefs, not to be confused with the current phenomenon, is a collection of recipes from chefs and food writers, first published in 1997.

This recipe was interesting for me with the spice base being black mustard seeds, sesame seeds, pepper, turmeric and chilli, quite hot but combining well with the fragrance of the curry leaves. Different.  Oh, and I reach the 200 recipes to go milestone today.

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Curry by Pat Chapman

  1. Looks very appealing, Dave. Nothing I love to eat more than a good curry!

  2. Lincoln says:

    Did you cook that in a wok?

    • David says:

      Yep, thats it in the picture, its a big cast iron beast. I really need to get another one as well that has a bit less (lot less) thermal inertia

  3. Lincoln says:

    btw, we have a curry leaf tree in the garden if you want some more, fresh or dried….

    • David says:

      I’ll keep that in mind. I was thinking we could go a barter arrangement with my bay and kaffir lime leaves but I’m guessing you have those covered.

      BTW how big is a curry leaf tree?

      • Lincoln says:

        Got the kaffir covered. No bay leaf because they get too much disease up here and I don’t like using chemicals on things I’m going to eat. Curry leaf tree is 5m tall at a guess – we have sufficient leaves for 1000s of curries!

Leave a Reply

