Rainy morning means extra time in the kitchen

I woke up to the sound of rain falling on the roof which meant that once I had checked the BOM weather radar, I bailed on my morning bike ride. Which meant more time for the kitchen. We have a beach house near Lorne and we like to have breakfast at the Wye River General Store where the food, coffee and bread are good. I always have the scrambled eggs with chilli and coriander, but we haven’t been down there for a while, so it was good to find a similar recipe in Charmaine Solomon’s Asian Favourites.

I cooked Spicy Scrambled Eggs, Parsi Style which are essentially scrambled eggs flavoured with chilli, spring onions, ginger, turmeric, cumin and fresh coriander. A nice feed, but not quite as nice as what they serve up at Wye.

Well that was my hunger satisfied but now I wanted to cook more. Years ago, my inner baker guided me to buy Baker – the best of international baking from Australian and New Zealand professionals. This book came out in 2001 and has 2 or 3 recipes from a selection of bakeries. Unfortunately, my actual baker hasn’t got a great deal of use out of this book.

I have been going to Babka in Brunswick St for years, though less frequently recently, for bread and I usually buy a couple of Casalingas and some shoo fly buns. The recipe for shoo fly buns is in the book and was always something I wanted to try, so today was the day.

Its an interesting recipe as it includes 250g of orange pulp – thats skin, pith and juice – everything except the seeds, and as I was using Navels, seeds were not a problem.  I like the idea of using the whole orange, sort of nose to tail meets fruit.

Heres the dough after kneading and after final proof.

Apart from the irregular shapes and sizes, they turned out pretty well.  Certainly tasted like the real deal.

Finally tonight some dinner that was an exercise in trying to reduce freezer stock.  Have had some kingfish left over from a dinner in the freezer for some time so was happy to find a recipe for stir fried kingfish with black beans and cucumber in Neil Perry’s balance & harmony.  This dish was quick, easy and tasty and will be cooked again.

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rainy morning means extra time in the kitchen

  1. I reckon you need to harness your inner baker more often. Those buns look amazing! 🙂

  2. Rosemary says:

    David, your cooking and blogging is proving great reading – and nudging me towards opening up more old cook books. I f you happen to cross the Yarra there are very good spicy scrambled eggs at Spoonful cafe in High st Prahran – with red chille and spring onions – will have to check next time as to what else.
    If you are down Great Ocean Rd way(or for that matter in Melbourne) Irrawarra bread from Colac is always excellent

    • David says:

      Thanks Rosemary. I’m enjoying the exercise so far! Hope to get to Spoonful one day.

      Funnily enough, the toasted bread under the eggs is indeed Irrewarra Ciabatta. We are lucky as our local fruit and veg in Willy is one of their stockists, and yes their bread is excellent. We are also quite keen on Zeally Bay bread from Torquay.

  3. Campbell says:

    That’s my kind of brekkie.

    And as for the name Shoo Fly Buns … classic.

Leave a Reply

