Quick Pasta Sauce

Tonights dinner was influenced by a number of factors, the main one being my family were hoping to eat before 8.30. We also had a packet of ravioli in the fridge that had to be used and fortunately my wife found time during the day to find a couple of recipes in Allegro al dente that she thought we should try.

Allegro al dente was one of a couple of books from Jill Dupleix and Terry Durack in the 90s that came with an accompanying CD (the other being Hot Food Cool Jazz which we will also see later in the year). Naturally the CD with this book is an opera compilation and the recipes exclusively pasta. Like ’em both.

As for this recipe, if you’ve got a selection of herbs (rosemary, thyme, parsley, basil and oregano), olive oil and tomatoes, you’ve got a pasta sauce that is put together in pretty quick time.

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Quick Pasta Sauce

  1. Aah yes, I can remember when those books came out. Frankly, I think any recipes by Jill Dupleix and Terry Durack are going to be good, those guys know how to eat, which as far as I’m concerned makes them more qualified to cook than many chefs! 🙂

  2. Alison Spencer says:

    I am wanting to know what you did? Did you toss the herbs in a fry pan with some olive oil?

    • David says:

      Thats pretty much it Alison. Chop a tablespoon of each of the herbs. Skin and deseed two tomatoes and finely dice. Heat two tablespoons of olive oil. Soften most of herbs and tomatoes. Season. Toss with cooked pasta and top with rest of herbs and parmesan cheese.

  3. Rocksalt says:

    David. With all this cooking how will you keep trim, taunt and teriffic??? I think the quick pasta sauce is not a sauce at all so is that cheating??

    • David says:

      I actually think good cooking keeps you trim, assuming you keep the portion sizes in check – keeps you away from a lot of junk. I know you are a purist, dare I say a non thermomixing idealist, and I have to admit, I felt that recipe was a bit light on, but hey, in the middle of the week, I’ll take all the breaks I can get!

  4. Campbell says:

    Talking of Thermomix … I see that there is a competitor on the market. You can even buy it in shops (gasp).

Leave a comment