Ottolenghi and a touch of Fergus Henderson

We love the Ottolenghi cookbooks, Ottolenghi – the cookbook and Plenty, and use them or turn to them for inspiration more than most. We had some friends over for lunch today and these books were turned to straight away. If only the weather could have played the game as well.

We did a number of dishes, some old favourites and some new as is required by this exercise. We started with sweet potato cakes from Plenty.

We then moved on to marinated rack of lamb with coriander and honey from Ottolenghi served with chargrilled asparagus, courgettes and manouri as well as cucumber and poppy seed salad, both also from Ottolenghi. I also made a caramelized garlic tart from Plenty. All the dishes worked well and it was a yummy main course.

Finally for dessert I made a treacle tart from Beyond Nose and Tail by Fergus Henderson and Justin Piers Gellatly. I’m not a huge sweets person but ever since I bought this book I have wanted to cook this tart and given I made enough pastry for two, I guess I’ll be making another one soon! Just a sweet, beautiful thing.

Anyway, I’ve managed to knock off three books today, so its 19 down, 208 to go.

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ottolenghi and a touch of Fergus Henderson

  1. Davey, I know it’s early days, but the countdown is starting to drive me barmy. Only 208 more countdowns to go. 🙂

    You know we love the Ottolenghi cookbooks, we adored those sweet potato cakes, but have never tried the marinated lamb – thanks for the pointer!

  2. Stephanie says:

    David, please let us help you with progressing through those recipes as often as you like. All were divine. I am now inspired to get the Ottolenghi books for myself, Yum.
    Stephanie

Leave a Reply

