Bienenstich

This is a big one for me. I’m not from the Barossa but my family’s roots are. There is a ruin of a stone cottage near St Hallett’s winery where my great grandfather lived and my folks moved to Nuri after I left home. So I have spent a bit of time there.

In my childhood I experienced a lot of traditional German food and my Auntie made a great German cake (Streuselkirchen). I’ve had this Barossa Food cookbook for a few years now and I confess I have never used it.

So I guess it is time to change that. My folks-in-law always stay with us at this time of year as they go to the Aus Open tennis. Father-in-law is a big fan of Bienenstich or Bee sting cake. So I thought I should give it a try. I’ve never really done any yeast cookery, so this was a bit daunting. I made a few mistakes, the dough was alot sloppier than I expected and had to redo the custard, but I got there. Family enjoyed it. Happy with the result.  The book is Barossa Food by Angela Heuzenroeder.

4 down, 223 to go

This entry was posted in The Project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

